FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~The Beasts Within The Glass~

Posted: June 5, 2013 in dark, fiction, Heart Warming, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Flash Prompt ZOO copyright-el-appleby

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/6-june-2013/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, your fortune awaits.

Here’s my contribution:

The Beasts Within The Glass

Inside the dark woman’s tent, incense smoldered, drapes muffled the carnival beyond. Ashby gazed into the glass as knotty fingers flitted above the orb spreading wide. With growing wonder she became hypnotized by the visions captured within.

Tell me what you see, my dear.”

A zoo…safari, maybe? Not really sure, but they are beautiful.”

What are, my sweet?”

The ground vibrated.

The beasts within the glass shuddered and soundlessly bayed, trapped in this silent film. Limbs were wrenched from bodies and melded onto others molding creatures of such strange beauty.

Your future, my delicate flower. Destroyer or creator. Choose wisely.”

jKb



Comments
  1. interesting, my dear, veeery interesting…

  2. Maggie Grace says:

    Vivid imagery and like the fortune telling setting.

  3. As always, an well-written, unusual story. I agree with Maggie that you’ve done a great job of description.

    janet

  4. Fay Moore says:

    The creature is so creepy. I like what you did with the prompt. A creative resolution.

  5. Lyn says:

    A different, interesting, and good read.

  6. Jan Brown says:

    I loved the feel of this story. You created a rich atmosphere in just 100 words.

  7. Destroyer or creator? Interesting! You traveled a long enigmatic way with the prompt …

  8. Dear JK,

    Leave it to you take an innocuous stuffed animal and turn it into something mysterious and evil. I’m not disappointed. Good one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. zookyworld says:

    Your descriptions paint a colorful, intriguing scene that drew me in to wonder what was going to happen next. The destroyer or creator comment reminded me of Vishnu… along with the god-like feeling of the beasts inside the glass being switched around.

  10. Kwadwo says:

    I’d rather leave my future a mystery.

  11. elappleby says:

    Wow, that’s beautiful.

  12. unspywriter says:

    Very nice–and loved the last line. Quite the kicker.

    Here’s mine; it’s fluff: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/young-at-heart/

  13. Interesting. Great atmosphere set up.

  14. neenslewy says:

    Oh the layers – Hobson’s choice! Choose destroyer and know that you will be taking them apart, choose creator – it sounds good – but that role would be pieces the destruction back together. Harsh. Haunting.

  15. H. Ken Abell says:

    What a great line: Your future, my delicate flower. Destroyer or creator. Choose wisely
    Ominous.

  16. petrujviljoen says:

    I’m really impressed. Chose wisely indeed.

  17. Sarah Ann says:

    ‘…my dear… my sweet… my delicate flower…’ I can’t work out whether this voice is endearing or chilling. Great story. I don’t want to think any more about those melding bodies.

  18. oh I think the future is still veiled and mysterious … well told.

Leave a comment