FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Heat Wave~

Posted: May 29, 2013 in dark, fiction, Heart Warming, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

FLASH PROMPT window-dressing-janet-webb

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/31-may-2013-2/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come dancing.

Here’s my contribution:

Heat Wave

A canyon breeze ruffled the many pleats and folds. This frock, the fifth identical so far, was purchased from the super store on the city bypass. Playfully displayed from the escape, an advertisement really, titillating others with hue and cut and flow.

Inside lounged a young lovely upon linoleum flooring, windpipe crushed, her only fault having unwittingly purchased this flirty number while Tanis observed.

And to think, there were seven more lovelies still admiring this dress in their bedroom mirrors.

This was going to be a busy but oh-so-fun week. Finally, something to take her mind off this blasted heat.

jKb



Comments
  1. Dani Karns says:

    Career suicide if she is the designer that nasty Tanis!!

    On Wed, May 29, 2013 at 12:34 PM, The Bradley Chronicles wrote:

    > ** > JKBradley posted: ” Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her > work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other > Flash Fiction Friday postings at: > http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/31-may-2013-2/ For > those who are new”

  2. H. Ken Abell says:

    That’s pretty twisted, and very well executed in the 100 words.

  3. This was a really creepy serial killer… I think Harry Bosch is needed…

  4. Lyn says:

    I am so glad I don’t like red dresses! You took the prompt somewhere completely different – great job.

  5. Linda Vernon says:

    uh oh. Tanis is the stuff nightmares are made of!

  6. elappleby says:

    I knew it was going to be chilling when I read about the five identical dresses and you didn’t disappoint. Great story. I just hope I never meet Tanis!

    • JKBradley says:

      Thank you, Ela.

      I think Tanis is looking toward those who shop in the giant soul-less stores, there resides bountiful game, and air-conditioning.

  7. Now I’m going to have nightmares and I don’t even like the dress!

  8. Sandra says:

    I took my dress back to the store. Wow! This was very creepy. Well done.

  9. Joe Owens says:

    What a unique take on the serial killer idea! I like it.

  10. petrujviljoen says:

    The bit that surprised me was the nasty person was a woman. Well written.

    • JKBradley says:

      I did go back and forth on that detail, but figured I’d be an equal opportunity employeer for serial killers.

      Thanks.

      • petrujviljoen says:

        I’m actually planning a bit of writing – although a feminist, with very good reason to be one, I’m not blind to the terribleness of the female gender. So, well done.

  11. unspywriter says:

    Well, that’ll make us think the next time we buy a dress! Great last line–loved the “off-handedness” of it.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/put-on-your-red-dress/

  12. Tanis is an unusual name. Does it have a hidden meaning?

  13. Dear JK,
    I dub thee Sir JK, Knight of Kreepy Table. This was a well-written bone chiller. No red dresses for me. 😉
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    • JKBradley says:

      Thank you, Rochelle.

      It’s gonna be a hot summer. As you mingle around and see women in red dresses you can feel for them and fear as well for what they don’t realize…

  14. wmqcolby says:

    All I could think of was sale day at Loehmann’s in New York … THAT’S what I would call a killing!

  15. neenslewy says:

    A twisted tale and original idea.

  16. She’s a pretty messed up woman. Well written though.

  17. Sarah Ann says:

    Wonderful. But is murder something to be doing when it’s hot? Exerting all that energy crushing windpipes?

Leave a Reply

