Thank you again to MadisonWoods for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://madison-woods.com/

For those who are new, MadisonWoods shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers will compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Settle upon this wicked wind and stay a while, won’t you?

Here is my contribution:

harbinger

as does the Monarch from flower to flower flutter,

spreading gentle caresses,

lapping sweet nectar,

unfolding delicate petals,

drinking her coming pollen,

such lovely succulence,

such glorious intoxication,

so does the harbinger from flesh to ripening flesh venture,

tantalized by noxious perfumes,

indulging upon sweetest necrosis,

shearing pleasures,

tearing delights.

glutted in the undoing yet not sated,

she rises from death’s bed,

from such rapturous ecstasy,

to dry her quills.

she shrills her victor’s song,

sagely remaining vigilant,

such magnificent poise,

awaiting the devouring of another lover.

jKb



Comments
  1. Adam Ickes says:

    Damn harbingers always hogging the corpses. Beautifully written, friend.

  2. Excellent job. I like the contrast with the butterfly (although if you read my submission, you’ll realize you’ve wronged the poor buzzard. :-))

  3. TheOthers1 says:

    Good night! Almost sounds like a woman scorned. Never piss a lady off; she’ll have you gutted in seconds. Gruesome, but good. šŸ™‚

  4. flyoverhere says:

    Juxtaposition of two competing personalities? I liked the similar attraction expressed by both.
    Mine is here. http://wp.me/p1LMPs-nW

    • JKBradley says:

      Yes. This first part, the butterfly was initially a bumble bee bumbling along, which I cut and pasted into a different document, then went back to the harbinger bit, who was a vulture, but alone the second bit was just dark for being dark, not nearly as interesting, which begged the first part to be woven back in. Felt better with the two differing views, i think.

  5. Aww…I was enjoying the life of a beautiful butterfly, when you had to go a spoil it. Darn. lol. Nice work. I’m #14 on the list.

  6. Jan Brown says:

    Your work is a thing of beauty, even when describing the rending of flesh. Well done!

  7. billgncs says:

    that was beautiful…. makes me envious ( smile )

  8. Very well written and great balance between the butterfly and the buzzard.

  9. Carrie says:

    gorgeous imagery considering the subject matter šŸ˜‰ Very enjoyable read

  10. rochellewisoff says:

    “sweetest necrosis” gotta love it. Nice bit of writing.
    http://www.rochelle-wisoff.blogspot,com/2012/07/arson.html

  11. doncarroll says:

    like this a lot!!!

  12. raina says:

    you nailed it again! šŸ™‚ great imagery, and scent-gery (I know there’s no such word but you know what I mean ;))

    http://writersclubkl.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/friday-fictioneers-the-river/

  13. Sandra says:

    Moved beautifully from one vision to another, the contrast being expertly handled. Nice one.

    http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/every-cloud-friday-fictioneers-july-2012/

  14. Dear JK,

    A departure from the norm this night from you. A creature of new form in view.
    Who knew?

    Loved your poem. Tried hard not to because poetry demands careful scrutiny before praise. Yours measures up.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/roadkill/

    • JKBradley says:

      Thanks, Doug. I have shared poetry in the past, and mostly it comes in a very relaxed free-form structure. I’m not much for rules. I’ll tell you, this came out in paragraph form but felt clumsy and was terribly awkward. As soon as I broke each segment into it’s own line this piece emerged. I’m glad you enjoyed.

  15. Mike says:

    A great take on the prompt.
    Loved the contrast between the gentleness of the butterfly to the shrillness of the harbinger.
    A snapshot of the lives we all live?

  16. Wonderful words, this would keep me mesmerised and wanting to reread for some time, in awe of how this flows from you, wonderful work indeed.
    http://wp.me/s1nUrn-buzzard

  17. Morbidly beautiful, great evocative comparison. Great shot. Mine is here and linked as well: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/fridayfictioneers-spectators/

  18. The imagery you create is just amazing! You have a wonderful way with words.

  19. Joyce says:

    A good picture of a vicious vulture enjoying its kill. Great story.

  20. I’m a fan of anyone using the word ‘necrosis’ in verse. Great comparisons!

    • JKBradley says:

      Thanks, Kathy. I never thought I’d use it, I mean, I didn’t set out to do so, but then, you never really know how you get to where you are sometimes.

  21. You carried us from construction to destruction in only a few words. Well played, Sir. Well played.

    ~Susan (www.susanwenzel.com)

  22. boomiebol says:

    So beautiful !!! Thanks for stopping by mine

  23. I love the beauty of this. The description of what is usually seen as something horrible, is shown here as being magnificently beautiful and rather awe-inspiring, almost sacred. I feel as if I should kneel. I wouldn’t call it uplifting because if it were I would want to fly, but there is certainly something spiritual about it. The spiral of life, forever spinning, moving and changing. This poem sort of fills you up and makes you peaceful. I wish that my poems could do that.

  24. Is it hot in here ;-)? Gentle caresses driving on towards the tearing delights and victory shrills…phew, erotically beautiful. Great work, JK.

    I’m here: http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/canyon-ff-friday-the-13th-of-july-12/

  25. tollykit says:

    Very interesting comparison of the butterfly and buzzard. The images it produced were wonderful. This was one I had to read out loud and I enjoyed the way the language flowed. Thanks for sharing this.

    Here’s mine
    http://tollykitsjourney.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/i-should-leave-fridayfictioneers-poem/

  26. Very nicely written! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Come visit anytime!

  27. yfkovimanac1984 says:

    Reblogged this on Karen Rabe Blog.

Leave a Reply

