FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Lover’s Embrace~

Posted: July 6, 2012 in dark, fiction, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you again to MadisonWoods for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://madison-woods.com/index-of-stories/outside-pecos/

For those who are new, MadisonWoods shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers will compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come. Follow me into the desert as thirsty as you are…

Here is my Sound Garden inspired contribution:

Lover’s Embrace

Come. Follow me.”

The sun’s still high, mate. Not going out there. I need another drink.”

But she’s hurt.”

A girl? You saw a girl?”

I left her in the sand.”

The unlikely pair exited swinging doors, raising hands, warding off the boiling sun. Just beyond the marker of town’s limit lay a blackened heap. Sand hissed beneath their running soles.

On one knee he rolled her, found bleached teeth, blistered skin, once beautiful eyes withering. “Worthless.”

No, you’re not. Now she can feed.”

Tendrils wisped forth, pulling, constricting. The final lover’s embrace.

jKb



Comments
  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear JK,

    Once again you’ve taken us out to the edge of town to be slaughtered.

    Thanks.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/nurture-or-nature/

  2. Mike says:

    Such menace in so few words.
    Thanks for a great read.

  3. erinleary says:

    Oh my. Somebody was set up. What a way to go……

    Mine is on the list at #15 or here: http://erinleary.wordpress.com/2012/07/05/flash-friday-fiction-11/#entry

  4. claireful says:

    Very dark. I liked that you make the reader work a little to think about what really happened here. And l loved the line ‘beneath their running soles’.

    I’m here if you want a read: http://worksbyclaire.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/100-word-story-music/

  5. beebeesworld says:

    Nice work-I love the Friday Fictioneers-its amazing how many ideas can come from the same prompt-i will follow your blog and hope you will follow mine as well.

  6. EmmaMc says:

    Ooo you always know how to make the blood run cold. Another great, sinister tale. Here’s my favourite line

    On one knee he rolled her, found bleached teeth, blistered skin, once beautiful eyes withering. “Worthless.”

    • JKBradley says:

      Thank you Emma. When I was clicking away and that line appeared on the screen I had a chill myself. It is the line that made me scratch the first story which is still tucked inside my unfinished folder.

  7. Kwadwo says:

    Chilling.
    I’m wondering though… did he lure the other man to his death?

    Thanks for coming over to logo-ligi: http://logo-ligi.com/2012/07/06/healing/

    • JKBradley says:

      Maybe the other man wasn’t even alive?!? I don’t know, really, this was the only segment revealed to me so far as well, which is the way I write, from the seat of my pants.

  8. What happened to the Bro Code? That mummified minx must be something else to come between friends. 🙂 I also have a fondness for that particular, tendril-based form of feeding.

  9. tollykit says:

    Very interesting. The tendril-based feeding raises questions for me about what kind of vampiric creature she may be. I do like your dark tales.

    http://tollykitsjourney.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/stag-night-fridayfictioneers-flashfiction/

  10. TheOthers1 says:

    That last line put all sorts of images in my mind. Pulling, constricting. Yikes

  11. Brian Benoit says:

    Great images and sounds, and you’re quick and to the point with the horror of that last instant, though not vague or sparing any detail. “Tendrils wisped” — great verbing with that one, and the description of the “girl” was just right.

  12. billgncs says:

    hardly worth it to rescue someone anymore! enjoyed the read

  13. EEK!!!! What ate him? I really like how you let us know it’s a modern day setting with the details. Nice!!!

  14. sphrbn says:

    Weird but interesting, like a sci-fi western type thing I think.

  15. Oh, reeling them in for the slaughter…duplicitous! I like it!
    Best,
    Mikaela

    I’m here: http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/the-house-that-jack-built-ff-6712/

  16. writelindy says:

    Dark and great take on the prompt.

  17. Joyce says:

    Couldn’t tell for sure if they were something like aliens, vampires, or just psychic lunatics in the twilight zone, but you created an image true to your writing style. Very convincing.

  18. Strange and creep. Not sure I understand what’s going on. Too many questions, b ut kudos to your vivid imagination. Here’s mine: http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  19. Evil trickery! Well written and great descriptions in such a short piece! 🙂

  20. Adam Ickes says:

    Love it! Especially the fact that she wasn’t a vampire. At least I’m assuming not, what with tendrils and all. Your descriptions are wonderful.

  21. That was delightfully dark! Excellent trickery. I fell for it until the last line 😉

  22. morbidly grand ..
    to be continued – a must . . .

Leave a Reply

