FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~I Pray You Sing (A Letter From Rachel)~

Posted: August 5, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

FFF Prompt moon-and-sky1

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction postings at:

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/08/05/7-august-2015/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction.

Come, let your body rest before you begin your next fantastic journey.

This, from May 2012.

Here’s my contribution:

I Pray You Sing (a letter from Rachel)

Dearest Mother,

I’m sorry. I haven’t always been easiest or prettiest and certainly I’ve let you down. Please understand, I’ve been angry. Children can be. So I ran.

Laying here, grasses crushed beneath, I wonder, can I still feel? Soothing sun. Coaxing breeze. Branches sway. Naked. As I am. Unblinking, imagining our world whole, yet, color fades, Mother, shudder, my heart stops.

Now, I traverse this awakening of permanent sleep, my understanding greater, my love for you ever deeper.

Left me here. Alone.

Cry for me not, Mother. I pray you sing, for I am coming Home.

Ever yours,

Rachel

jKb

Comments
  1. ansumani says:

    Poignant and sad. The mother’s heart-break will be great and I wonder if she can ever sing. Beautifully written.

  2. ceayr says:

    Bit of a tear-jerker here, but very nicely crafted letter.
    Hits all the buttons.

  3. Illsa Gorrey says:

    Oh wow, that’s really powerful. I know I wasn’t the easiest kid in the world, especially after my father died. I became very rebellious. My older brother tried to be a father figure to me after my dad’s passing. I’m amazed he didn’t end up killing me. Really he deserves sainthood for what he went through.
    I have suicide ideation sometimes, though no intent to actually carry it out, so I can relate to your character’s words on that level.

  4. The differing lengths of the sentences really adds to the piece.

  5. Miles Rost says:

    It plays on emotions that are tough. I find myself really feeling drawn into the story.

    Excellent work.

  6. That tugs at the emotions, well done.

  7. gahlearner says:

    It reads like a song, which fits with the title. Beautifully written, I love it.

  8. Sigh! Mother-daughter relationships can be difficult at times. You’ve captured the pain and love very well!

Leave a Reply

