FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~The Disciple~

Posted: November 12, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

FFF Prompt hollywood-crowd

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/11/12/14-november-2014/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, take a push, you’ll love it something fierce. Promise.

Here’s my contribution:

The Disciple

You only as good as the last fix. Can’t let ‘em tell you no different cause that shit’s a lie. Nah, on these streets it ain’t kill or be killed; when you down here, you already good as dead.

It’s right here that I met the Righteous-Man. I was strung out and beaten, lying in festering filth and asking the Almighty to gift me death. Righteous gave me a stick and I gained a purpose. Righteous fixed me somethin’ fierce, I tell ya. Gave me back sight and hunger, pulsing sensation, lustful wanting, and for him I’d do fucking anything.

jKb

Comments
  1. Adam Ickes says:

    Sounds like the makings of a much longer tale. Excellent stuff.

  2. Sandra says:

    He might just have to do that. Tantalising stuff.

  3. From the sound of it, salvation isn’t always for the good in many ways. Your dialogue rings true.

    janet

  4. I get the feeling that this is the beginning of something really bad.. never trust a guy like that.

  5. Dear JK,

    Your dialogue is fraught with desperation, panic and need. The stuff of addiction. Well written.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear JK,

    Of such desperation are churches spawned, ministers made and religions reproduced. A great, atmospheric tale that opened the underbelly of the prompt like a switchblade through warm butter.

    Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  7. storydivamg says:

    JK,
    I must admit that I hadn’t thought of Skid Row entering the fray this week. Good work. You keep the voice clear but realistic. This is heartbreaking.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • JKBradley says:

      Thank you, Marie Gail. For some reason I was able to crawl inside this fellow’s skin for just a few minutes, and it did feel sad and depressing and uncomfortable i think because it’s plausible.

  8. This has such a feeling of loss! even as “salvation” is found. Well done

  9. Margaret says:

    This is gripping. He’s a desperate character, but I think he’s just found a way out. Or it’s found him. I’m pondering …

  10. Nan Falkner says:

    Wonderfully written story – so true to life. You captured “rock bottom” perfectly! Well done! Nan 🙂

Leave a Reply

