FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Seekanauk~

Posted: August 27, 2014 in fiction, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

FFF Prompt grapevine2bgoo1

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/08/27/29-august-2014/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, let me ask you. How’s your bones?

This bit is a teaser for something I’ve been working on.

Here’s my contribution:

Seekanauk

His jaw ached and two ribs were certainly cracked. Bradley swung his feet onto the wide-planked pine and sat at the bed edge. All for a girl, he thought feeling his nose. The pain was worse in his sinuses but he couldn’t recall the impacts, just voices, a sucker-punch from the side, and then cold salt-flat mud. He’d been thrown from the dock and left for dead but the rising tide had roused him. And now, as he looked upon his battered reflection there was a tickle, and he saw, what was that, a crab leg wriggling into his nostril?

jKb

Comments
  1. Ouch.. and that was all for a girl.. Alas I will remember your story next time I indulge in crabs..

  2. Eww! Nasal crabs … I hate it when that happens!

  3. Sandra says:

    Hope she was worth it. But I don’t know how good you have to be to be worth that..

  4. paulmclem says:

    Big nose or small crab 🙂

  5. That is funny. Despite his situation.
    Does he get the girl?

  6. Lynda says:

    Nasty. Well written, but, EW!

  7. I immediately blew my nose. 🙂

    janet

  8. Mike says:

    It better be TRUE LOVE for that must pain!

  9. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Bradley – Yea, hugh, crabs isn’t something you would want to admit. Blow your nose and burn the hankie or kleenex! Quick! Nan 🙂

  10. Bradley, Get that sucker out of there before it makes itself a home. Laying on salt-flat mud is liable to do that to you (I guess since I’ve never done it). This was both humorous and dark. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  11. Yikes! This makes my nose hurt and I want to sneeze. I love crab. One of my favorites -perhaps not any more. Good take on the prompt.

Leave a Reply

