FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~A Gift~

Posted: June 18, 2014 in dark, fiction, Heart Warming, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

madisonwoodsdilapidatedroom

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. And, a double thanks for this prompt which gave me such joy as I read through years of twisted postings. But back to it…you can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/18-june-2014-summer-rerun/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, enjoy a little push.

Here’s my contribution from back when:

A Gift

Boards long since pried from window casings, no longer barred entrance. Through the portal, shafts of moonlight pierced darkness, an opaline pool glimmered amidst abandoned filth. Therein, upon that stage, a pristine chair, wooden, hand-tooled, polished to high luster, iridescent in majesty.

Another gift from mother. A baleful reminder of lessons administered.

Beside awaited a sleeping candle and sooted spoon. Glazed eyes surveilled, the impotent King approached, claimed again his stony throne. Flame melted rock, barrel loaded, leather-belt secured with teeth.

Plunger depressed.

A blissful sigh.

An utterance as veiled death flooded his veins.

“Happy Mother’s Day.”

jKb

Comments
  1. Ahhh, Bradley, I’ve missed your darkness. I’m working on an idea. Will post later.

  2. Great double meanings here, and wonderful imagery. Loved it.

  3. So great to read your old posting.. I never wrote at that time so I had to write something new…

  4. This was dark. I like dark. I also liked your use of the prompt. Nice to see variation.

  5. helenmidgley says:

    Darkly delicious 🙂

  6. sleeping candle and sooted spoon Love these words. Nice repeat. Thanks for sharing again.

  7. “veiled death”- clever and chilling genius. Your articulation made the dark, beautiful.

  8. elappleby says:

    Impressive stuff. I wouldn’t know where to start commenting on it – with the chair that’s out of place with the surroundings? or the mother’s role in the whole thing? or the drugs? my head’s reeling. Thank you.

    • JKBradley says:

      When this prompt was first given it coincided with Mother’s Day. I suppose if I shared that bit of information in my lead in it would have explained the Mother angle. Either way, I’m glad you enjoyed.

      Thanks for visiting!

  9. Bradley, Seems everything has already been said. I’ll just add that it was well written with great description. Impressive. 🙂 —Susan

  10. Old wall paper seems to elicit very dark stuff, and you are so great at it Bradley. The alliterations and descriptive phrases, along with fragmented thoughts/sentences are fantastic, and really paint this wonderfully twisted story. Great job!

  11. hafong says:

    I got high reading it. I wonder if I’m sick. 🙂

  12. Such darkness and tension, and a killer last line. Well written 🙂

  13. Nan Falkner says:

    Good and dark! You are a very good writer! Thanks for the story! Nan 😉

Leave a Reply

