FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~In Good Faith~

Posted: May 28, 2014 in dark, fiction, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

FFF Prompt Gothic Arch jennifer-pendergast4

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/30-may-2014/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, just don’t try to sell me something.

Most of this is true, except where it is not.

Here’s my contribution:

In Good Faith

Entirely sober, more or less, and enjoying a read involving the demise of a fellow named Barlow when I was interrupted by three lovely stalkers from St. John the Evangelist. They endeavored to explain Jesus loves me and wants me to attend their church so that I may be saved.

Me?

Their faded late model sedan is still sitting with its wheel turned to the curb, their broken bodies are neatly stowed in the root cellar along with several pamphlets promising everlasting life, and now I’m sweaty, thirsty and in need of a shower.

I pray their faith wasn’t false.

jKb

Comments
  1. I love how that penultimate paragraph runs on from the car to the bodies with barely a pause – great writing. And a fantastic way of getting his pyschopathic character across. However, although the murder may actually be thirty, I think you might have meant thirsty?

  2. Very creepy story! Great take on the photo this week 🙂

  3. wmqcolby says:

    You are SO twisted, you know that, don’t you? 🙂

    • JKBradley says:

      It’s not me, it’s them, them aren’t twisted enough. So I tries to give em a twist. But theirs heads pop off.

      I’m glad you enjoy, that’s what it’s all about!

  4. Dani karns says:

    oh you dark twisted one – you have to give it to those gals trying to woo you –

  5. elappleby says:

    Brilliant writing – I loved ‘entirely sober, more or less’ and ‘three lovely stalkers’ – you’ve created a rounded, interesting (and psychopathic) character in a handful of words. Perfect.

  6. Dear JK,

    That was a rather extreme reaction, don’t you think? Well written. I laughed in spite of myself.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear JK,

    Every now and then you write a story that outdoes even yourself. This is by far and away one of them. Perfect.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    P.S. Thank God I’m an atheist.

  8. I agree with Doug. This was totally perfect. Of course, it captured our alreacy cynical fancy, but in such a charming way. And it made me laugh!

  9. high five and raspberries says:

    Psychopath or visionary ? It worries me ( slightly ) that I laughed….well done.

  10. BrainRants says:

    I like the twist. The narrator’s casual assessment of his fatigue and thirst imply his sickness.

  11. Jan Brown says:

    Wow. So what does he do when Jehovah ‘s Witnesses come to the house? No, don’t tell me!

  12. Bradley, What does he do on a busy day I wonder. He better bury something in that basement pretty soon. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    • JKBradley says:

      I wonder how long a body will keep in a root cellar? I’m suspecting this fellow doesn’t like to waste anything and may have some unsightly use for them. But really, who am I to judge?

      Thanks as always, Susan!

      Come visit again soon.

  13. Way off his rocker puts it mildly. Nice and creepy.

  14. elmowrites says:

    Word to the wise: You’re going to want to move that car, and possibly delete this post before the cops come looking. After that, I have some realtors you could work your magic on…
    Great stuff this week!

    • JKBradley says:

      The car was thankfully stolen after I retrieved the keys and slipped them in the ignition, and rolled the windows down.

      But I should delete the posting!

      Thanks!!

  15. ” Entirely sober more or less” lol, yeah me too. 😉

  16. unspywriter says:

    Dark and, and, and, I loved it! Thanks for a chuckle and a shiver.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/2014/05/30/friday-fictioneers-and-an-elegy/

  17. There is always a good reason to avoid trying to get more followers… Maybe Facebook is safer.. Love you language man.

  18. Ah, the poor ladies of faith. Dark, twisted and absolutely hilarious!

  19. Sarah Ann says:

    Love the matter-of-fact way you describe the car and their bodies in that one sentence.

Leave a Reply

