FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Wick Whispers~

Posted: April 30, 2014 in dark, fiction, Heart Warming, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

melting-wax-renee-heath

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/04/30/2-may-2014/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, listen for the whispers.

Here’s my contribution:

Wick Whispers

Her honed blade easily divided meat and sinew from the gelatinous yellow fat, the result of sickening gluttony. She hummed as she toiled, tossing chunks into the heavy cast pot set upon a rendering flame. The mass would consume several hours before uniformly liquefying which afforded Marta opportunity to arrange her wicks and embellish the simple glass jars with her signature label, Spirit Essence Votive. These were her best sellers for how the melted wax seemed to stretch and reach and some clients would talk of wick whispers.

Marta understood.

Each votive contained a secret ingredient which yearned for escape.

jKb

 

Comments
  1. Wickedly good 🙂 I love the meaty side of a good tale…

  2. Gruesomely delicious writing.

  3. Candles made from humans? I can’t help thinking that from you on FF it’s more than likely Your usual skilful use of language to make my face screw up in reaction.

    janet

  4. This reminds me of the movie about the fellow who boiled women for their scent and made perfume. That, too, was a really wicked story. Thanks for make my hair stand on end.

  5. Good story with good description. I don’t think I want to know where the fat came from. O_o Dark but well done. 🙂

    Susan

    • JKBradley says:

      I think you kind of already know the source.

      I just noticed you signed as Susan, and I thought you were Patricia. What the hell do I know? Lol.

      Thank you for visiting!

      • I usually don’t use a first name and am really more at home with the nickname for my middle name. I sign checks and legal papers with my first name and middle initial. I just thought I’d let the other writers for FF know. Sorry about that. I’ll answer to either. 😄

  6. Dani K says:

    oh MARTA – you sick and wicked individual – I’ll be sure to check the ingredients of my organic candles

  7. Judah First says:

    Nicely woven tale. 🙂

  8. Dear JK,

    “The secret’s in the sauce.” You do know how to tell a macabre tale. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. wmqcolby says:

    Creepy-before-lunch-type stuff. Bravo, J.K.

  10. Liz Young says:

    Delightfully gruesome. Can you actually make candles out of animal fat?

    • JKBradley says:

      Indeed. Google Tallow and candle making. Then pay attention to those cute candles you find at the local shoppes, made by local artisans, and maybe you’ll come across one of Marta’s.

      Enjoy!

  11. Ooh, creepy. I’ll never look at a candle in the same way again! 🙂 Excellent!

  12. elappleby says:

    How macabre you are this week! Turned my stomach a bit but a very good read.

  13. I really don’t want to know more. Nicely written?

  14. Nicely done! I love a good, gruesome tale. I question the scent that might come from such a candle. I just made myself a little sick thinking about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

