FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~The Interview~

Posted: March 19, 2014 in dark, fiction, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

old-building-staircase

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/03/19/21-march-2014/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, let’s share a little adventure.

Here’s my contribution:

The Interview

“It looks dilapidated.”

“Works just the same.” Mr. Maple’s third jerk persuaded the metal gate into compliance, although not without first gnashing a meaty finger and drawing blood. He said, “Stand back, missy, wouldn’t want no accident,” then shoved the digit between his lips and sucked.

She envisioned him devouring a roasted baby arm and felt queasy.

The air swirled, debris shuffled across the floor as there came a rising vibration. Maple’s polyester suit gained a certain weightlessness and the lights flickered. From out of the dark hole in the floor rose an elevator car containing a queer internal iridescence.

jKb

 So, when I go to get the link and the little frog I end up at a page that shows no links…

Comments
  1. I loved the picture of the elevator car rising out of the dark hole in the floor. Some very strong images in this story 🙂

  2. Roasted baby arm! That was some horrifying imagery there, well done!

  3. Dear JK,

    Sounds like the elevator from Hell. I image of the roasted baby arm is disturbing to say the least. The whole story and its imagery are well written to say the most. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. JudahFirst says:

    Interesting! Wonder where she’s going? Nice, creepy feel.

    As to the froggy link … I right click the linkup icon, copy, then paste it in my draft and it puts the picture and the link in place. I don’t know why it isn’t working for you…

  5. Definitely unsavory, but toasted to delicate perfection as a story, JK. As for the linky critter, I found that the code you see right away on the page doesn’t work for me or rather, it only puts in a link that’s in words. For those on wordpress.com, you have to go to the pull-down menu above and indicate you’re on WP.com. You then get different code that will produce the normal linky thing. Not sure if that’s what happened in your case, but it did for me last week and then again this week until I explored a bit more.

    janet

  6. Your story made me think of a someone “apartment hunting” Some times apartment hunting feels like that. 🙂

  7. Your descriptions gave a good background for the story. I don’t know whether I’d step into that elevator or not. No telling where it goes. Well done.

  8. Dani Karns says:

    no thank you – I will pass on this job offer…..

  9. “then shoved the digit between his lips and sucked.” That alone really grabbed me. Such creepy, strong images, JK.

  10. Carrie says:

    Elevators can have such ominous feelings about them 🙂

  11. Nan Falkner says:

    Excellent and creepy – baby’s arm? Good story and I really don’t particularly like elevators either but sometimes you really have to use them. Thanks, Nan 🙂

  12. Oh .. whenever I see a roasted arm and an eleveated polyester suit I feel queesy too.. stunning imagery ..

  13. storydivamg says:

    This reads like a passage near the beginning of an eerie tale concerning beings of another dimension. Interesting take on the prompt.

  14. Ugh, that made me a little nauseous.

  15. There is a lot of foreboding here, although I’m not sure where it’s going. All I know is I don’t think I’d like to work for Mr. Maple.

  16. atrm61 says:

    Horrific and I doubt anyone is getting out alive -yikes!

Leave a Reply

