FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Gate Theory~

Posted: October 9, 2013 in fiction, Outdoors, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

FFF Prompt Gate Theory sandra-crook-3

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/11-october-2013/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, experience the prick of this storyteller’s pleasure.

Here’s my contribution:

Gate Theory

When the shovel clanged upon something which was neither ceramic nor rock the professor was sent for. His vast geographical knowledge and particularly uncanny ability to locate structures which history could not explain had earned him this project, and his own tent.

Have we located something significant? Another foundation, perhaps?” He fumbled for his wire-rimmed glasses.

Please, come immediately. This is different.”

Yes, yes. Come out with it.”

Professor, it’s an iris, carved symbols in iridescent metal, and it pulses with energy like it’s breathing. The men, sir, they’re terrified.”

Holy Christ. Another gate?”

And, it appears active.”

jKb

Comments
  1. More, please? This is a fantastic snapshot of what could be an amazing story!

  2. Linda Vernon says:

    Oooh! I agree with Helena. More please!

  3. howanxious says:

    A gate to where!? I am intrigued. The carving of iris doesn’t say much about they mystery. Very well-written.
    -HA

  4. I want to go through it; but should I?

  5. Lovely sci-fi twist to the prompt, JK.

    janet

  6. DCTdesigns says:

    Well now I need more. Where does the stargate go? Time to hop.

  7. J. Milburn says:

    I agree with the others. This should be continued. Great work!

  8. First sci-fi I’ve read this time… left me wondering. What happens next?

  9. Sandra says:

    Very graphic. Nice one.

  10. Dear JK,

    Where to, buddy? Show me oxygen, a temperate climate and lots of sun and beaches on the other side and I’m there.

    Wait a minute…I already am. I’ll keep an eye out for you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  11. Dear JK,

    Well written story as always and left me wanting to know more. Where will this lead?

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  12. That would indeed be massively terrifying.

  13. Great! Does everyone else know what the hell you are talking about? I loved Stargate in its day – and I think it is a very plausible way to get around, plus I dug those Egyptian outfits. I wasn’t too hot for that wormy thing though – and it didn’t seem that realistic, but otherwise, your story was charming.

  14. Yes it is intriguing and worthy of expanding.

  15. draliman says:

    Very Stargate! I love the fact that the eminent professor has earned the right to his own tent 🙂

  16. rgayer55 says:

    What no dead bodies? (at least not yet) A very intriguing tale,JK. I love your style. All the little details (fumbling with the spectacles) put me right there with the characters. Extremely well done.

  17. Great story, and yes like others I’d like to know more, the idea of a portal fascinates me.

  18. unspywriter says:

    Oh, very ominous. We must know exactly what the men are terrified of. We must! 😉

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/martyr/

  19. […] FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Gate Theory~ (thebradleychronicles.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

