FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Second Hand Love~

Posted: September 18, 2013 in fiction, Heart Warming, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

FFF Prompt the_second_hand_shop-1

I apologize for being weak on interactions the past few weeks. I’ve recently been under the knife but am on the mend and will soon resume the dance of the jig.

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/20-september-2013/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, taste how sweet.

Here’s my contribution:

Second Hand Love

The promenade here was unchanged for nearly sixty years. Harold and Joyce first met on this stretch as teens, had learned the ache of a summer crush, had eventually found friendship which blossomed into love.

It was not the love enjoyed by youth, but something deeper and somehow ever more sustaining.

As they strolled a thought seeped inside Joyce, wishful thinking really. Now that they were each widowed and had reconnected their second hand love, that maybe the magic here could gift them something special. She entered the store of castoffs looking for new life and beckoned Harold to follow.

jKb

Comments
  1. Sweet, and well written.

  2. nice to have other cast-offs to be part of
    hope you are feeling better

  3. I like it! I kept waiting for some horror to happen but I’m glad it didn’t. And I’m glad you’re feeling better. Maybe being under the knife was enough horror for the week.

    janet

  4. helenmidgley says:

    Such a hopeful little piece 🙂

  5. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear JK,

    I like the way your story told the tale of sixty years in one hundred words. Well done save for the seeping thought, which sounded to me like a boil or something worse.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • JKBradley says:

      My intent with that word was to show it wasn’t her own thought, rather originating from another source, perhaps from within the store, perhaps like the scent exuded from the Venus Fly Trap. I think many will miss that, however, I think you got it on some level since you felt uneasy with it being there.

      Appreciate it!

  6. Dear JK,

    Glad you’re on the mend. This was quite the departure from your usual dark fare. Nice. Although, the thought seeping into Joyce’s head made me uncomfortable. It sounded like an amoeba eating her brain. Aside from that I sweet tale. Hope love is better the second time around.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • JKBradley says:

      I explained this to Doug just a moment ago. My intent was to show the thought wasn’t really her own, maybe coming from the store, similar to the perfume of rancid meat from the Venus Fly Trap. As I read comments only you and Doug were unsettled by that word, so most will miss the unease, but the effect worked for you two.

      Thanks, Rochelle!

  7. zookyworld says:

    Love after so many years … this is sweetness come back around, and courageous of the characters to look for new life.

  8. I always enjoy your writing, darling, and this was no exception. It’s good to know you are more than a one-flavour writer. No one died or was being stalked or anything this week!

  9. nightlake says:

    Hope Joyce’s wish comes true. a very nice tale

  10. kz says:

    that was really lovely 🙂
    and hope you feel better soon!

  11. rgayer55 says:

    At my age, there are more thoughts seeping out than seeping in. Glad you’re on the mend and I hope everything works out well for Harold & Joyce.

  12. It’s never too late, hmm? OK, perhaps that should be my mantra! Lovely piece, and wishing you speedy recovery.

  13. unspywriter says:

    Aww, how sweet. Gives hope to us old, single folk. 😉

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/reminiscing/

  14. I love your title. Nice story. I hope their love can blossom this time. I hope you’re healing well!

  15. Good story. And I want to wish you a quick recovery.

  16. Sarah Ann says:

    Just skimmed through other comments and your replies – I knew it was too good to be true to that you’d gone soft this week. I picked up the dark undertones but not from the Joyce’s seeping thoughts. It was the reference to ‘… the magic here…’ that had me unsettled.

  17. I especially love the title.
    Get Well soon.

  18. Love that hope… it can still linger in second-hand love.

  19. pattisj says:

    Wishing you a speedy recovery. Yes, “seeping in” and “castoffs” made me think about why you chose those words. Maybe not all is as it appears.

Leave a Reply

