FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Floating~

Posted: July 27, 2013 in dark, fiction, poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

FFF Prompt DOUG maui-from-mauna-kea

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/26-july-2013-2/  

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come. If you’ve got something to offer. Or, bring something to sedate my demons, cause they bite.

They’ll rip you fucking heart out.

Here’s my contribution:

Floating

It’s two a.m. and the fucking heat has finally broken. I’m wondering if it was something super-natural or the Crown Royal. I think the drink might just prevail.

Nothing loves you like the heat, you know?

And the drink.

God, the ice; the sticky suck of my lips over the lip of the glass.

Clinking ice.

Cold biting.

Fuck.

So erotic.

I’m floating.

And the sweaty heat.

And that dress. That clinging dress.

Slipping toward heaven.

And the Crown.

The cabby’s horn; a poet’s sax.

Jesus. My tongue, wetting my lips and tasting your salt.

That smoky bite.

Fuck.

Me.

Jkb

 

Comments
  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear JK,

    Demon drink and the heat. This reminds me of a hot summer night in the city. I like that the prompt took you there. Hot and cool, heaven and hell. At first I thought this was a departure from your usual style, but then I realized I was dead wrong. Good work.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. I’m really torn by this story because, as usual, it’s well-written and, in the case, erotic, but I don’t hesitate to say I detest the f-word, so that really puts me off. But that’s OK. 🙂

    janet

  3. It seems like a mix of the supernatural and the drink. This was quite intoxicating. I liked your take on it.

  4. petrujviljoen says:

    Strong stuff! I can see a prowling, growling, irritated animal. You got valium?

  5. Dear JK,

    Words escape me. Stunning descriptions.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

