FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Keep-Safe~

Posted: April 24, 2013 in dark, fiction, Heart Warming, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

FLASHFICTIONPROMPT Library by claire-fuller

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/04/24/26-april-2013/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, sneak a peek inside, what wonders you shall behold.

Here’s my contribution:

Keep-safe

“A jewelry box?” Dor queried descending the library ladder.

“Of a kind. Go ahead, open it.” Dor obliged, then softly cooed. The interior was lined in deep red velvet, an inlaid mirror adorned the hinged lid. Nana relished the child’s awe. “Tell me, Dor. What do you see?”

“A home for my bracelets! But the mirror, it looks like a stormy sky.”

“It’s my Keep-safe box, Dor, which is now yours. Whatever you place inside stays locked away; safe forever. However, you mustn’t ever place something inside without which you cannot live.”

“I don’t understand?”

“It contains secrets, my dear.”



A bit more of a tease…. 

“When you have a secret that requires extra safe keeping, something that needs to disappear, you turn the key to the right two times, until it clicks, then open the lid and put your secret inside.” Dor’s expression made Nana think of what a Picasso meant to capture bewilderment must look like. “This is very important, child. Turn the key to the right, two times, until it clicks. You must always turn the key to the right.”

“Why ‘always to the right’?”

“Sugar, we wouldn’t want these kinds of secrets escaping.”

jKb

Comments
  1. I can’t decide whether it would be good to have a box like this or not. On the whole, I think not. Too much chance of it being left (or pried) open and then all those secrets would be out causing chaos. Too Pandora-like.

    janet

    • JKBradley says:

      Yes, Janet, I too am not certain. I think many already have vaults such as this, in a way. I am interested to explore what secrets Nana may have tucked therein.

  2. This is a very nice one, well-written and clever.

  3. kdillmanjones says:

    Nice storytelling!

  4. A little bit of Pandora’s box in this I feel. And I love the names of the persons.

  5. Charming tale, elegantly told.

  6. Danielle Karns says:

    ssshhh don’t ask – don’t tell

    Date: Wed, 24 Apr 2013 16:33:38 +0000
    To: dmkarns@hotmail.com

  7. Carrie says:

    I want her for MY Nana…what a cool box 🙂

  8. Lyn says:

    Mysterious and just a little goose bumpy. There is as much told as untold. I liked this…a lot. Can we have some more please?

  9. Sandra says:

    Lovely story telling with just a thread of dread running through it. Well done JK.

  10. Dear JK,
    You leave me with many questions. Like Björn I was going to like the box to Pandora’s. I wonder what happens if Dor turns the key to the left? good job.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  11. elappleby says:

    I liked the two parts to this – the first bit definitely left me wanting more. A great idea, I have one or two secrets that could definitely go in the box!

  12. Joe Owens says:

    Sounds like a box of trouble to me. makes me think of Pandora’s adventure.

    • JKBradley says:

      Similar concept. Pandora’s box already contained the evils and hope; this box…seems it will hold whatever secrets the heart and mind cannot contain without maddening the owner. Mayhap, these things, of Pandora’s and of Dor’s, will all be the same?

      Thanks!

  13. rheath40 says:

    I always enjoy your stories. I want more, more, more.

  14. julespaige says:

    For the longest time I couldn’t cut my PBJ’s in half because my father told me if I did that I’d loose half the flavor.

    Nice, very very nice.

  15. t says:

    Thought provoking, and eerily good!

  16. Jan Brown says:

    Oh, how many generation’s secrets are locked therein???

    Makes the reader think. Nicely done!

  17. misskzebra says:

    I’m so glad you included a little extra.

  18. Sarah Ann says:

    Really like this. Love the idea of locking away secrets. I want to know Nana’s been hiding in there.

  19. It’s got a nice sinister feel to it. Interesting idea, a place to keep secrets even from ourselves. If only…

  20. Debra Kristi says:

    So well told, as always. Sound potentially dangerous to have around, though, and a little scary.

    • JKBradley says:

      Thank you, Debra. I wonder if at first having such a box might seem beneficial, until you begin to have unintended repercussion, or second thoughts…

  21. camgal says:

    Splendid, I like the idea of having the boxes lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

