FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Maddening~

Posted: March 7, 2013 in dark, fiction, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

FLASHFICTIONprompt Winding Stairs

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/8-march-2013/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come, hurry, you mustn’t delay.

Upon viewing this weeks prompt a thought struck me…What if Ray Bradbury had penned something like The Wonderland Chronicles. A tinny taste arose. I began.

Here’s my contribution:

Maddening

This seemed all too familiar, almost a dreamscape. I felt awake. Wasn’t I?

Standing upon the riser, unable to recall if I were rising or descending, I was struck by such an absurd impression: I had been captured or restrained within a conch shell.

Preposterous.

I reasoned this the throat of a tower and dared tread lower to effect my escape, and glancing behind, discovered I was directly where I’d begun.

Indeed, curious.

Pondering, unable to recall events prior, I elected to climb.

A white light throbbed as a digitized voice prompted, “Hurry ahead, Alison. You mustn’t be late.”

jKb



Comments
  1. Ray says, “Good job!” Sounds like those dreams where you don’t really know what’s going on and can’t figure it out.

    janet

  2. Original. The photo does look like a conch shell. Very twilight writing.

  3. Tom Poet says:

    An Imaginative piece. Reminds me of how I looked at conch shells as a child. The little ridges on the inside always remind me of land being farmed…They are perfectly straight and I use to tell stories of little people living in the shell. Really enjoyed this.

    Tom

  4. yepiratehere says:

    Difficult take to write…and could go the CS Lewis way! Well done!

  5. I liked the confusion, the conch shell, the tower, and the voice’s comment. Thus, I must conclude I liked the whole piece!

  6. deanabo says:

    I love the way your words flow

  7. julespaige says:

    Though by a different authour(s) I was thinking…Can you spell H.A.L. –
    Thanks for your visit.

  8. nightlake says:

    different thinking. a good one

  9. kdillmanjones says:

    I actually like this better without the Alice reference, with the nice writing throughout. It would be interesting to see it developed more with Alice though!

  10. A good one, Bradly. Yes, the Conch Shell effect and then, your Alison? I liked your predicament. Up or down, down or up, caught in a conundrum…. The Starship voyager….
    Lindaura

    • JKBradley says:

      I didn’t see very many of the StarTrek spinoffs. Was there a similar conundrum for them? I was simply toying with the idea of a modern Alice In Wonderland. Thank you for stopping by.

  11. unspywriter says:

    Very ominous. I can’t imagine a worse nightmare (or reality)–stuck on an endless staircase. Well done.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/procrastination/

  12. Down the rabbit hole for Alison then. Excellent take on the prompt and I loved the way you had it in the style of Lewis Carroll. Excellent.

  13. yarnspinnerr says:

    Brilliant – captured within a conch shell. 🙂

  14. rheath40 says:

    Down the rabbit hole a bit? I loved it J.K. Up or down? Which way? Is it Heaven? Is it Hell? Hmmmmm.

  15. rgayer55 says:

    Excellent piece. I’d loved the period style writing.

  16. Dear JK,

    A great take on Alice in Bradbury land. And the photo prompt put me in mind of a shell, too. Good job.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  17. Trudy says:

    I love the ‘throat’ of the tower, sounds sinister and alive, and also the electronic voice – makes me imagine a lab rat in a maze. Very imaginative

  18. Dear JK,
    I believe Mr. Bradbury and Mr. Carroll would both approve. What more can I say than I love it? Bravo!
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  19. petrujviljoen says:

    If you like Ray Bradbury (may he rest in peace – sure he will); then try Ursula le Guin. Can’t think of a title right now …

  20. Carrie says:

    poor Alice/Alison…always getting into strange situations!

  21. Alison’s been in the mushrooms again, eh?

  22. It sounds like a modern day “Alice.” Well done. I agree this feeling of not knowing where you are of being disoriented when you look at this photo. You did a nice job incorporating that into your story.

  23. kz says:

    brilliant and original… beautiful words…

  24. wonder if Carroll and Bradbury got together what they would concoct? Something like this I imagine
    well done!

  25. elmowrites says:

    I really enjoyed this amalgam of loved themes. It’s a little like I feel reading all the FF responses these days!!

  26. Interesting I will look into this more

Leave a Reply

