FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~Solace~

Posted: December 19, 2012 in dark, fiction, Heart Warming, Holiday, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

ChildrenBlackAndWhite from internet

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/21-december-2012/

For those who are new, Rochelle shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers compose a 100-word flash of fiction.

I cheated this week. I did not follow. I chose something else. Rise with me. Heal.

Here’s my contribution:

Solace

One terrible day a sorrowful boy committed the unspeakable. The heavens trembled with cries, for on that day this boy laid waste the defenseless around him. And then, something unexpected happened. From the broken bodies of children angels arose and, with tears in their cherub eyes, they came to the boy. Tiny hands reached out to him, rested upon him. Then they sang. Withstanding all the anger, all the pain and fury, and fear, these children, these angels, gifted him solace. They comforted him, they guided him home. And with the most selfless act of all, they loved him.

jKb



Comments
  1. You’re forgiven for “cheating” with this touching story “based on an actual event”, as they say. What a lovely way of viewing the unspeakable. It is, in it’s own way, a story of Christmas love since at Christmas, Someone showed love to us, the unspeakable.

  2. Danielle Karns says:

    beautiful – tears in my eyes – thank you

    Date: Wed, 19 Dec 2012 18:05:47 +0000 To: dmkarns@hotmail.com

  3. tedstrutz says:

    I thought this piece was very appropriate and beautifully written. After all the shock and grief and the anger… there is another victim.

  4. Tom Poet says:

    I would like to say I can agree with attempting to give comfort to a hollow soul but I can not. None the less a fine piece of writing.

    Tom

  5. Stacey says:

    I actually pictured this running in my head (like a movie). Very descriptive. You could omit the last line—”guided him home” seems final. If you want to keep the selfless act of loving him, I would try to work it in higher up in the text (although their actions demonstrate love, so you don’t necessarily need to state it).

  6. Beautiful. Powerful. Thank you. Reminded me of what (precious, beautiful, angel) Emilie’s dad said during his difficult TV interview. He forgave him. This piece deserves to be sent to the Hartford Courant (newspaper).

  7. Sandra says:

    For the moment I’m with Tom on this. Maybe it’s too soon for me. A well-written piece though, as ever.

  8. Dear JK,
    A well written piece. Ultimately I the goal is to forgive that terribly troubled young man for our own peace of mind. I can’t say I”m there yet. You, on the other hand, are certainly forgiven and lauded (by me) for taking a different path this week.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  9. A true writer – making the reader look at a story from a different angle, with new eyes. Beautifully done.

  10. Yes this is true the attacker was also a victim.

  11. erinleary says:

    Nicely done. Healing words are needed when bad things happen. Mine is a more traditional take here. http://wp.me/p1Wqon-dN

  12. I read this three times, I had to soak it in. Well done and thought provoking.

  13. Debra Kristi says:

    The hardest thing to do is look past all the anger, hate and frustration and bestow love and forgiveness. And yet, if you follow the doctrine that is what we are to do. I read this earlier and came back to it again (now that the kids are down and I have peace). I can picture it playing out like a movie and it’s beautiful. We don’t know what caused the sorrowful boy to commit the unspeakable. You don’t mention it, but maybe he’s simply broken and in need of healing. As horrible as his crimes are if he were to come before the almighty, what do you think he would do?

    Lovely work.

  14. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear JK,

    Masterful and sublime, just as we have come to expect from you.

    Have a good Christmas.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  15. HI J.K.,
    Congratulations on not being a follower, especially when you can summon up a tale of forgiveness like this for people to contemplate. Ron

  16. Abraham says:

    Very thought-provoking. Very different. Very well written.

  17. brudberg says:

    I think it’s was the right timing to not following the prompt, and I very much like the approach you’ve taken.

  18. rich says:

    i wouldn’t want that to happen but it would really be a beautiful thing if it did. very thoughtful of you. in the middle you have “reach” when i think you meant “reached.” not sure. super job.

  19. billgncs says:

    that was beautifully stated

  20. wmqcolby says:

    A beautiful and heart-felt tribute. Thanks!

  21. this gave me chills JK. It was a very brave stance to take. I thought it was beautiful but I like Stacey’s suggestions too.

Leave a Reply

