Flash Fiction Friday ~ Well Earned ~

Posted: October 19, 2012 in dark, fiction, Heart Warming, writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thank you again to MadisonWoods for all her work and organization. This group is great because of the talent and friendship, the sharing and contributing, and it wouldn’t have gotten this far without your faithful commitment to us.

Thank you.

Visit Madison’s blog and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://www.madison-woods.com/Wordpress/101912-2/

For those who are new, MadisonWoods shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers will compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Get on the bus and ride.

Here is my contribution:

Well Earned

Welcome winners. Mind your step.”

Isn’t this great?”

I’m not really certain.”

Seats. Then tickets. We have a schedule.”

What’s the first stop?”

Everybody buckled? We wouldn’t want an accident.”

How long before Vegas?”

Is this the right bus?”

Let’s get those tickets punched.”

Vegas? Yes. This bus does make a stop there. Check your ticket.”

This isn’t a bus pass. It reads like, like I’m in confession.”

Tickets, please.”

Let me off.”

Oh, no sir. We couldn’t do that. Your ticket’s been punched. No refunds.”

jKb



Comments
  1. The bus to ????? Nice nudge to the imagination.

  2. oldentimes says:

    Interesting concept, leaves a lot of conjecture about the ‘final destination’. I really enjoyed reading.

  3. Sandra says:

    ‘Your ticket’s been punched.’ A fine air of finality in that. Nice work.

  4. Ooh, a police sting operation? Or are they headed someplace worse and more permanent?? Well written, wherever they’re going!

  5. Hi J.K.,
    Always suspected that Vegas was on the road to hell. Now you’ve confirmed it for me. Very fun response to the prompt. Ron

  6. rich says:

    vegas, hell, life, it’s all a gamble. nice job sir.

  7. keliwright says:

    I learned my lesson about riding busses in college. Glad I’ll be missing this road trip! I like your take on the prompt.

  8. tedstrutz says:

    I visioned police sting at the boarding… maybe worse at the end of the trip. Always nice to visit the Chronicles…

  9. elmowrites says:

    spooky stuff, JK, I’m not sure I’m on the right bus. Could I get off? I don’t need a refund!

  10. brudberg says:

    Sinister indeed 🙂

  11. Oh oh, I’m guessing there won’t be a return trip. Creepy.

  12. Tearing up my ticket before I board that bus. Strong dialogue, JK…don’t need exposition to tell this story.

  13. Lora says:

    Your tickets been punched…sorry, no refunds and no turning back. Remind me not to get on that bus.

  14. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear JK,

    This story’s ticket has been punched to the head of the line. Very sharp one here. Loved the last line.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  15. Oddly reminiscent of the Long Island Rail Road — hmmmm….

  16. doncarroll says:

    dig this one. nicely done !

Leave a Reply

