My mind’s been elsewhere. I wonder if when my mind travels, when I leave out on these magnificent adventures, is it just a whimsical fantasy, some lingering adolescent drivel? I believe no. Such is the language of the naysayers, and to them I ask: Is something not real because it escapes another’s sense of tangibility?

Evolve. Open your heart and open your mind.

If I journal the events and another reads and now two have shared the experience, and then a third and another, how can it be said that the dream is not real? You live how you wish, freely restricted, within your self-imposed walls of delusion. I will travel down the rabbit hole and there I shall meet others like me, again and again, for we are brothers and sisters and what we share is nothing less than magical.

Poof.

Thank you again to MadisonWoods for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at:

http://www.madison-woods.com/index-of-stories/100512-2/

For those who are new, MadisonWoods shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers will compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Now the pitch. Go ahead. Choose the red one.

My contribution:

For Love

He dreamed it would be done here. Eventually. In this safe harbor of peace and union; where their family nurtured their bodies as well as their souls; where struggles were confronted and solutions devised, together.

Here, a pact was forged; another bled.

She sought a love. Other than that which arose beside her each morning, labored daily to provide comfort, fed and bathed her when sick, which kept her true, only, contained within his walls.

In this room, upon this shared table she stretched before the other, revealed her passion, explored places all together new and unknown.

But, for what?

jKb



Comments
  1. Beautiful words for a terrible situation. Welcome to the rabbit hole. šŸ™‚

  2. Stacey says:

    Very poetic. šŸ™‚

    I did get a little lost though. Is the title answering the question at the end of the piece?

    I had no idea what the “it” that “would be done here” was. My first thought was murder (her death), but then he’s talking about peace, union, and a safe harbor (so I threw out that initial thought).

    “Here, a pact was forged, another bled.” also confused me. After reading the whole thing, I thought maybe a single pact (their marriage) was being referenced.

    “She sought a love.” I thought this was still his point of view until I ran into “revealed her passion” and then I wondered if maybe we had switched to her viewpoint (I was running on the assumption that she had a husband and a lover).

    My final thought was that maybe he was planning on asking her for marriage and hoped to wed and de-flower her in the kitchen (so, currently, not her husband at all), although that really made me wonder about the person she was sleeping beside who was taking care of her (incest?).

    Very curious to know if any of my theories were the correct one!

    (And thanks for stopping by my blog! šŸ™‚ )

    • JKBradley says:

      The ‘right one’ is the one which resonates with you. As this story unfolded in my mind we had a otherwise happily married couple with a neat, clean, and safe home front, which in many ways imprisoned the wife, who then brings another man into the household and makes love on the kitchen table, so that she can actually feel alive, and feel passion, to know she is alive.

      Thanks for reading!

  3. billgncs says:

    For what? I cannot say, but Why — because every cell strives against the emptiness of unbeing.

    I enjoyed it.

  4. Raina says:

    beautiful! and tragic really.

  5. rich says:

    new and unknown. there is the other edge of the sword.

  6. Sandra says:

    Good one this. There’s something quite unnervingly horrifying about the prospect of betrayal on the kitchen table, and you’ve captured it beautifully. Well done.

  7. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear JK,

    Took me two reads but the story is clear and beautiful and sad and yet, stragely, uplifting. You captured much of the heartbreak and longing that the velvet prison of marriage sometimes stifles. i say well done to you this week. You went deep (into the Rabbit hole?), returned unharmed and we are the better for it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • JKBradley says:

      Thanks, Doug. I struggled with this one. At first I was using visuals that were salacious; it was hot but didn’t convey the gravity, so I stripped it out and went with the bones of the story. Then I was wondering it folks would get it, and so far they did.

      By the way, how did your frisbee event on the big island go?

      • dmmacilroy says:

        Had a blast, came in third in the grandpa division (which is hotly contested) and won the Miss Congeniality Sash. All in all, a great three days. Thanks for asking.

        Aloha,

        Doug

  8. Mr. Bradley,
    It took careful reading, but I understood finally, and my sympathy is with the wife who was imprisoned in a loveless marriage. Well wrought story! Ron

  9. Parul says:

    Marvelous! Even infidelity can seem noble when written so poetically! šŸ™‚
    And I loved the little prologue! šŸ™‚

  10. I wonder if the wife felt freed from her prison after the kitchen table encounter. As a woman who has been there I felt the unspoken pain of the walking wounded and/or dead. Great writing, JK.

  11. unspywriter says:

    Your wording is close to perfect here, so much said in so few words. Excellent job.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/shuttered/

  12. Joyce says:

    Reminded me of the words to a country song, “Looking for love in all the wrong places,” (loved the song) could be rewritten to “Looking for love in all all erotic places,” here. Your words are well chosen to help me visualize a sad story of one seizing upon a moment of passion, having regretted it later. Is that close to what you have here? It fits very well, J.K., and you do it well. We have sure had a lot of diversified sad love stories, haven’t we. Check my two recent ones out on the list if you have time.

  13. Brian Benoit says:

    Their perspectives on their marriage are, sadly, pretty different – and it’s strange and somehow understandable at the same time that all he gives her still isn’t what she’s looking for. Great characters, with the wife’s character really coming through strong in the last half.

  14. It boggles my mind why anyone would want to have sex on a hard, uncomfortable kitchen table. Where is the pleasure in that? Especially for the woman. More like torture to me.

  15. Anne Orchard says:

    Can’t help feeling a little sorry for the husband. Seems like she didn’t find what she was looking for elsewhere, either. Very thought-provoking story.

  16. I was a little confused, but curiuos enough to want to read more. I think she’s thinking of wanting someone other than her husband. I’d definitely read more. Good hook.

Leave a Reply

