Thank you again to MadisonWoods for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com/flash-fiction/rainbows/

Here’s my contribution…I hope you enjoy.

Glass-Craft

The old people centuries before were shipwrecked upon this world, their cryptic glyphs and schematics lasered in stone. Icarus labored to decipher those foreign characters. He gathered rare desert sands, combined valuable gems, as instructed. He melted, fused, tempered the glass. A hull fabricated. An engine constructed, to be fueled by light itself.

The new people gathered under seasonal rains, they celebrated. Icarus boarded his glass-craft. Clouds parted, sun blazed, engines roared. His ship stretched skyward, took flight, bent light.

The crowd cheered as the ship rose.

Icarus bowed forth. Then, gone.

He visits frequently, just after rains cease.

jKb

Comments
  1. TheOthers1 says:

    Ah, really neat explanation for rainbows. I liked this. šŸ™‚

    My attempt: http://unduecreativity.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/fields-of-wildflowers/

  2. teschoenborn says:

    Wonderful sci-fi take on rainbows, prisms and Icarus.

    Here’s mine: http://teschoenborn.com/2012/05/17/friday-fictioneers-luck-of-the/

  3. I just had to stop by before running off on a camping trip and SO glad I did. I don’t know if the rainbow is a memory of success, failure or hope, and I like that it could be anything. And now I have to pack the sleeping bags!

    Kathy
    http://notforallmarkets.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/after/

  4. Far more solid than his father’s aviation constructions. Nice story – ancient Greece mixed with modern conspiracy themes on ancient Egypt…or maybe that’s just me?I liked it!

    I’m here: http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/friday-fictioneers/

  5. flyoverhere says:

    Wow, I really liked this take! Next time I see a rainbow your story will come to mind!

  6. Jake Collin says:

    “An engine constructed, to be fueled by light itself.” I love that line, seeing as what a rainbow is. Great little piece.

    http://therantinarkansan.blogspot.com/2012/05/friday-fictioneers-pot-of-gold.html

  7. emjayzed says:

    I enjoyed that, thank you šŸ™‚

  8. rich says:

    we need to hire icarus to make our energy policy. he’s a bright one, that’s for sure.

  9. unspywriter says:

    Very nice. I love the concept of a glass ship, powered by light. Good job.

    Thanks for the comment on mine.

  10. rainang says:

    loved your take…sci-fi and rainbows – and the glass ship, and “bent-light” šŸ™‚

  11. Lora Mitchell says:

    Who knows…perhaps we will see a glass ship powered by light within a few generations. How great would that be? Icarus…wait for us…we are on our way !!! Nice take on the prompt. Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  12. Linda says:

    A nice twist on the Icarus and Didelus story – I enjoyed it šŸ™‚

  13. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear JK,

    There was something in the cadence of your work that was the perfect partner to the story itself. It had the feel of a religious primer in a civilization that reveres science and magic. A very unique and beautiful take on the prompt. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    This link is in case Icarus lands and want to visit my world.
    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/no-rain-no-rainbows-3/

  14. Amanda Gray says:

    A nice spin on the Icarus flying to high legend. Unlike the Greeks I believe you can never fly too high.

  15. joannalazuliportals says:

    Lovely descriptions, and I really enjoyed the concept. Really well done. šŸ™‚

    We appreciated your comment on ours:
    http://www.lazuli-portals.com/flash-fiction/a-cordello-memory

  16. elmowrites says:

    Cute story – I like the explanation of what rainbows are. I’d personally have chosen another name for Icarus – too many associations with disaster, so I was expectign something bad to happen. But maybe that’s what you were after.
    Tiny note – I think the crowds “cheered” not “cheer” as the rest of the bit about the new people is in past tense, leaving that beautiful last line to stand out on its own.
    You’ve visited, but if your readers want to, I’m over here: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/friday-fiction-the-lie-of-the-land/

  17. seanfallon01 says:

    His ship stretched skyward, took flight, bent light.

    Love it.

  18. doncarroll says:

    definitely a nice take on the rainbows. one of the great wonders of the world as i see it.

  19. Great imagination and a clever use of Icarus. Very uplifting (no pun)

  20. Madison Woods says:

    Loved the combination of genres and mythology you used to fashion this story.

  21. Fay Moore says:

    Your story captures the whimsy in my heart. Great short tale, nicely told. You even left open the possibility of a sequel.

  22. sacha1nch1 says:

    well done icarus; boy done good

  23. Kaitlin says:

    Oh, that is lovely. Wonderful origin story of rainbows.

  24. sphrbn says:

    I love the imagery and description, actually I loved the entire piece.

Leave a Reply

