FLASH FICTION FRIDAY ~The Gospel~

Posted: June 7, 2012 in dark, fiction, Outdoors, writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you again to MadisonWoods for all her work and organization. You can visit her site and read through the other Flash Fiction Friday postings at http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com/flash-fiction/vertigo/

 

For those who are new, MadisonWoods shares a photo prompt to which several #FridayFictioneers will compose a 100-word flash of fiction. Come and play. Do it. It’s fun.

 

Here’s my contribution, again, somewhat early. But, I’ve limited internet and must make hay when the sun shines.

 

The Gospel

Here comes another.”

Thought we’d seen the last.”

Coming to port.”

Feeble. Adrift in this destitute ether, and we an almighty battleship, reduced to scourging the flotsam. The indignation.”

In range of flame-jets in ten seconds.”

Don’t they understand the world? We’re of science, not superstition.”

In range, Sir. Awaiting orders.”

Open port torpedo portals. Make ready.”

Sir. she’s coming about.”

What’s this new game?”

She’s broadsiding. Her guns are hot. Orders, Sir.”

The Gospel?”

Expanding flash, ship ablaze, puckered flesh.

One parched whisper.

Good Heavens.”

jKb

Comments
  1. Loved it! Well done, sir! Definitely not a take I would have come up with! Here’s my go: http://theforgottenwife.com/2012/06/07/friday-fictioneers-6812/

  2. Wow! Another very different one! We’re all doing really strange things with the prompt this week. This one was very well-written, but frightening.

  3. doncarroll says:

    if her guns are hot – yep that can be gospel. nicely done.

  4. TheOthers1 says:

    “Adrift in this destitute ether” <<< loved that line. I've noticed a lot of people tackling dialogue this week.

  5. rochellewisoff says:

    Good heavens! How fitting for a last line. Love this.
    Mine is here: http://www.rochellewisoff.blogspot.com/2012/06/wings.html

  6. flyoverhere says:

    Good Heavens indeed! Nice job.

  7. rich says:

    underestimating the enemy. tsk. tsk.

  8. Kaitlin says:

    Fabulous! Dirigible warships, I love it! I went steampunky too. http://kaitlinandmichaelbranch.com/2012/06/08/friday-fictioneers-6/

  9. Ah, the rewards of hubris. Plus we’re big steampunk fans in my house, so you had me from the top.

    Kathy
    http://notforallmarkets.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/on-the-bright-side/

  10. Atiya says:

    What a piece! I like that your Captain pleads a little bit before doing his job. It’s like he doesn’t want to hurt the ones attacking him. Great story it’s fresh and very imaginative. Here’s mine: http://remakingme-atiyatownes.blogspot.com/2012/06/friday-fictioneer-jump.html

  11. Kwadwo says:

    Guns ablaze, all hell breaks loose, the gospel speaks of looming doom.

    Here’s mine: http://logo-ligi.com/2012/06/08/radiant-flight/

  12. their arrogance was their undoing; defeated by an inferior (but creative) foe. I love how you painted a picture of post-apocalyptic flotsam in the sky.

    Here’s mine. http://practicallyserious.com/2012/06/08/150-word-ficti…-the-spearhead/

  13. Brian Benoit says:

    Nice piece with strong dialogue. I can feel the captain’s exasperation — how the combatants seem poorly matched and even poorly prepared. “Expanding flash, ship ablaze, puckered flesh” — was a great line, encapsulating all the chaos of the moment and expressing it sharply. Nice one.

    Brian (http://pinionpost.com/2012/06/08/11-2-seconds/)

  14. Linda says:

    I just love the language you employ in – it is just so evocative and allows the reader to create an image they can play with too, my favourite this week was the sentence “Adrift in this destitute ether, and we an almighty battleship, reduced to scourging the flotsam” – thanks :-)

  15. Madison Woods says:

    I’m not sure I understand exactly what is happening, but the tension and excitement was excellent regardless. What I interpreted it to be was souls ascending that they were bringing on board, but not sure what the other ship was if not just another enemy airship. Maybe one from hell trying to recover missed opportunity?

    • JKBradley says:

      My vision was that the photo was the perspective of the battleship blimp, and the goodyear being the Godspell sort of drifting into range, almost a ghost ship or one wounded in an earlier battle, yet, it turned out it was not so dead afterall. So, two steampunk aircrafts battling on the high seas, er, clouds.

  16. dmmacilroy says:

    This piece has a beautifully wrought steam-punk feel to it. I got lost in the language and the choreography of airborne battle. Well written and worthy of a return visit.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/joining-a-murmuration-or-bud-cowarts-view/

  17. jake kale says:

    This entry represents my first foray into the steampunk genre. I can see the appeal now. The imagery this conjures up is pretty cool. I’m imagining a grizzled Captain Nemo-like figure, complete with cybernetic peg leg, the barest hint of terror on his face quickly giving way to stoic acceptance. Unless of course they have parachutes in the steampunk universe, in which case the situation might not be quite so bleak.

    Here’s my entry. I decided to do something a bit different this time.
    http://themasterofhisdomain.com/2012/06/09/no-more-shop-talk-100-word-flash-fiction-comic/

  18. Lora Mitchell says:

    HI … I was lost until I read your answer/explanation to Madison’s comment. I guess it would help if I knew what a steampunk was. Will google it. Some of this modern stuff is confusing to this late-bloomer. Thank you for your touching comments to mine.

  19. bigsmileu1 says:

    I am honored to nominate you for the One Lovely Blog Award! Please pick-up your award at http://www.grandmothermusings.com . Congratulations!! :)

    • JKBradley says:

      The honor is all mine. My writing is done as a creative release, and I am greatly moved when others enjoy what I’ve created. Thank you so much for your nomination. I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

